Skip To Main Content

Workshops

 What I liked best about the workshops is that the training is not about technology, but about teaching.

—Scott Rogers, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of English

Throughout the year, the educational technology team provides various workshops on technology tools and software designed to help you in teaching and learning. In addition, the team facilitates a series of workshops intended to guide faculty through the process of creating effective online, blended and face-to-face courses.

The course description page provides detailed information on the workshops. Please see the schedule for dates, times and topics below.

However, if these workshops do not fit your schedule, you can request a specific workshop. The Workshop by Request offers a one-hour workshop tailored to meet the specific needs of departments or small groups of faculty/staff. They are scheduled when interested faculty/staff can attend at a location convenient for all participants.


fall 2017-18 Educational Technology Workshop Schedule

workshops for faculty and staff -  REGISTER

Topic Date Day Start End Place
Introduction to Solstice Aug. 29 Tuesday 1 p.m. 2 p.m. TBA
Introduction to Solstice Aug. 30 Wednesday 9 a.m. 10 a.m. TBA
Introduction to Solstice Aug. 31 Thursday 2 p.m. 3 p.m. TBA
Gradebook: Setup and Calculations Sept. 5 Tuesday 1 p.m. 2 p.m. Taft 209
Introduction to Solstice Sept. 6 Wednesday 9 a.m. 10 a.m. Taft TBA
Gradebook: Setup and Calculations Sept. 7 Thursday 2 p.m. 3 p.m. Taft 209
Phishing and Security Sept. 12 Tuesday 1 p.m. 2 p.m. Taft 209
Gradebook: Setup and Calculations Sept. 13 Wednesday 9 a.m. 10 a.m. Taft 209
Google Drive and Docs: Getting Started Sept. 14 Thursday 2 p.m. 3 p.m. Taft 209
Google Hangout and Zoom Sept. 19 Tuesday 1 p.m. 2 p.m. Taft 209
Introduction to Google Forms Sept. 20 Wednesday 9 a.m. 10 a.m. Taft 209
Using Safe Exam Browser Sept. 21 Thursday 2 p.m. 3 p.m. Taft 209
Using Screencast-o-matic Pro Sept. 26 Tuesday 1 p.m. 2 p.m. Taft 209
Introduction to BigBlueButton Sept. 27 Wednesday 9 a.m. 10 a.m. Taft 209
Introduction to Turnitin Sept. 28 Thursday 2 p.m. 3 p.m. Taft 209
Word: Mail Merge and Name Tags Oct. 3 Tuesday 1 p.m. 2 p.m. Taft 209
Excel: Getting Started Oct. 4 Wednesday 9 a.m. 10 a.m. Taft 209
PowerPoint: Multimedia Presentation Oct. 5 Thursday 2 p.m. 3 p.m. Taft 209
Introduction to OneNote Oct. 11 Wednesday 9 a.m. 10 a.m. Taft 209
Introduction to BigBlueButton Oct. 12 Thursday 2 p.m. 3 p.m. Taft 209
Using Safe Exam Browser Oct. 17 Tuesday 1 p.m. 2 p.m. Taft 209
Introduction to Turnitin Oct. 18 Wednesday 9 a.m. 10 a.m. Taft 209
Introduction to ShareStream Oct. 19 Thursday 2 p.m. 3 p.m. Taft 209
Using Screencast-o-matic Pro Oct. 24 Tuesday 1 p.m. 2 p.m. Taft 209
Introduction to Lightboard Oct. 25 Wednesday 9 a.m. 10 a.m. TBA
Introduction to BigBlueButton Oct. 26 Thursday 2 p.m. 3 p.m. Taft 209
Introduction to ShareStream Oct. 31 Tuesday 1 p.m. 2 p.m. Taft 209
Introduction to OneNote Nov. 1 Wednesday 9 a.m. 10 a.m. Taft 209
Google Drive and Docs: Getting Started Nov. 2 Thursday 2 p.m. 3 p.m. Taft 209
Google Hangout and Zoom Nov. 7 Tuesday 1 p.m. 2 p.m. Taft 209
Word: Mail Merge and Name Tags Nov. 8 Wednesday 9 a.m. 10 a.m. Taft 209
Excel: Getting Started Nov. 9 Thursday 2 p.m. 3 p.m. Taft 209
PowerPoint: Multimedia Presentation Nov. 14 Tuesday 1 p.m. 2 p.m. Taft 209
Using Safe Exam Browser Nov. 15 Wednesday 9 a.m. 10 a.m. Taft 209
Introduction to Lightboard Nov. 16 Thursday 2 p.m. 3 p.m. TBA

 

Workshops for students - register

Moodle: Getting started

Are you new to Moodle or need a refresher? We have you covered! Plan to attend a Moodle: Getting Started Workshop and a chance to win an iPad. A drawing will be held at the end of each workshop.  At the end of the workshop, you will be able to:

  • Customize the course page and find hidden courses
  • Develop your personal profile page
  • Complete and submit assignments
  • Complete and submit quizzes
  • Upload contents for grading 
  • Check grades and instructor's feedback
  • Participate in discussions/forums and chats
  • Send email to peers and the instructor


Dates and Place (Attend One Session)

  1. Tuesday, Sept. 5, from 6:30 - 8:00 p.m. in TAFT 209
  2. Thursday, Sept. 7, from 6:30 - 8:00 p.m. in TAFT 209


We're looking forward to seeing you!

AttachmentSize
PDF icon Fall 2017-18 Workshop Schedule431.31 KB
Topic Date Time Place
Using Screencast-o-matic Pro 10/24 1:00 pm to 2:00 pm Taft 209
Introduction to Lightboard 10/25 9:00 am to 10:00 am TBA
Introduction to BigBluButton 10/26 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm Taft 209
Introduction to ShareStream 10/31 1:00 pm to 2:00 pm Taft 209
Introduction to OneNote 11/1 9:00 am to 10:00 am Taft 209
Google Drive and Docs: Getting Started 11/2 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm Taft 209
Zoom and Google Hangout 11/7 1:00 pm to 2:00 pm Taft 209
Word: Mail Merge and Name Tags 11/8 9:00 am to 10:00 am Taft 209
Excel: Getting Started 11/9 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm Taft 209
PowerPoint: Multimedia Presentation 11/14 1:00 pm to 2:00 pm Taft 209
Using Safe Exam Browser 11/15 9:00 am to 10:00 am Taft 209
Introduction to Lightboard 11/16 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm TBA