Skip To Main Content

Current Season

2017-2018 Season

Austrians and Germans

Sun. Oct. 15 - 4pm

This program features works by Austrian and German composers, including Wagner's Overture to Rienzi, J.S. Bach's Komm süsser Tod, Haydn's Symphony No. 100 - the Military Symphony, and a Batman Concert Suite by Hans Zimmer. Additionally, Paige Stafford, a winner of the concerto competition will perform Weber's Clarinet Concerto No. 1 in F minor. Stafford is a sophomore Clarinet Performance major at ONU.


90th Anniversary Gala Concert 

Sun. Dec. 10 - 4pm

The Wind Orchestra and Symphony Orchestra perform together on this program. The Symphony will play Shostakovich's Festive Overture, music from Mission Impossible, Puccini's Capriccio Sinfonico, and Suburban Grooves by Ohio composer Clint Needham. Noah Walter, a winner of the concerto competition will perform the first movement of Saint-Saëns' Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor. 

The music of Clint Needham has been described as “wildly entertaining” & “stunning... brilliantly orchestrated” by the New York Times, as well as “well-crafted and arresting… riveting” by the Herald Times.  As an educator, Needham currently serves as Composer-in-Residence/Assistant Professor of Music at the Baldwin Wallace Conservatory of Music.


Black History and Brahms:

Sun, Feb. 25 - 7pm

In support of Black History Month, the Symphony will present William Grant Still's Symphony No. 1: the Afro American Symphony and The Passion of John Brown by Ohio Composer Jesse Ayers. Ayers was the winner of the inaugural American Prize for Orchestral Composition in 2011, and was named an "Honored Artist" of the American Prize in 2014. Since 1997, Ayers has served on the music faculty of Malone University. The composer will attend this concert.

The program also features guest violinist Stanislav Pronin on the Brahms Violin Concerto. Violinist and composer Stanislav Pronin was born in Moscow, Russia and began his violin studies upon his immigration to Israel at the age of 8. Stanislav’s professional career began following his solo debut in Israel at the age of 10. He has performed as soloist and chamber musician at many festivals and venues.


Children's Concert:

Sat. May 5 -  3pm 

This interactive program is designed for preschool through early elementary students, but bring the entire family, infants through grandparents!  We'll be singing, moving, and listening to the music of Prokofiev, while learning about the instruments and exploring musical elements. Come enjoy music as a family!


Season Finale:

Bernstein at 100

Sat. May 5 -  7:30pm concert

The University Singers join the Symphony on the evening of May 5 for this 100 year celebration of Bernstein's birth year. The works by Bernstein include the Overture to Candide, Chichester Psalms, and Make our Garden Grow from Candide. Also on the program is Prokofiev's Symphony No. 1 - the Classical Symphony, and Phillip Glass' Concerto for Saxophone Quartet. These four saxophonists are also winners of the concerto competition: Curtis Clarke, Alex Chapman, Isabel Bonarrigo-Burton, and Jarrett Barr.


Department of Music

Patty Warner

Presser 202
525 South Main Street
Ada, Ohio 45810
Monday: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Tuesday: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Wednesday: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Thursday: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed