Skip To Main Content

Previous Programs

2016-2017 Season


"Pines and Mountains"

On Saturday, October 15, 2016 at 7:30 p.m., the Ohio Northern Symphony will present its season opening concert “Pines and Mountains” at the Freed Center for the Performing Arts. Works include the John Williams Signature Edition of Jurassic Park, Jeff Midkiff’s Mandolin Concerto (From the Blue Ridge), Edvard Grieg’s Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, and Pines of Rome by Ottorino Respighi. Jeff Midkiff is the composer and soloist for his concerto for mandolin and orchestra, “From the Blue Ridge.” It was composed in 2011 in a commission from Music Director David Stewart Wiley and the Roanoke Symphony Orchestra. The first performance was opening night of the Roanoke Symphony Orchestra's Fall 2011 season, and the Concerto has subsequently been performed with the Rochester Philharmonic, the Shreveport Symphony, and the Williamsburg Symphonia and the Northwest Florida Symphony, Boulder Philharmonic, and the Symphony of Southeast Texas, Beaumont. More information is available at


On Saturday, December 10, 2016 at 7:30 p.m., the ONU Wind and Symphony Orchestras will present “Gaudete: the It’s Not Quite Christmas Yet Concert.” The program includes Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker Suite, Copland’s Variations on a Shaker Melody, and Psalm and Fugue by Hovhaness.

"Glory, War, and Peace"

On Sunday, February 26th at 4:00 p.m., the Ohio Northern Symphony will present “War and Peace,” featuring a world premiere by guest composer Nathan Pangrazio. The work is in reference to the Civil War and will include several movements and innovations. Nathan Pangrazio is an Emmy winning composer, with an extensive background in classical training as a composer, a pianist, a choral conductor, and a singer. He is from a family rich in music and art, and his father is an internationally known art director for film. He was recognized at an early age as a remarkable and prodigious composer, and at 15 he was commissioned to write his first piece that achieved widespread attention. Also on the program is a Chinese work performed by Shengyuan Tong on traditional Chinese instruments, and music from The Lord of the Rings.

"Season Finale: Beethoven's Eroica"

On Saturday, May 6th at 7:30 p.m.  the Ohio Northern Symphony will perform its Season Finale, featuring Beethoven’s monumental Eroica Symphony (Symphony No. 3, op. 55 in Eb major). Additionally, the Symphony will perform a world premiere by Ohio composer Kurt Doles, and feature up-and-coming violinists from Romania.


2015-2016 Season


“Opening Night: Destiny and Dvořák”

  • Sunday, Oct. 25, 2015 – 5 p.m.
  • Freed Center: Biggs Theatre

Music Director Travis Jürgens will lead the Ohio Northern Symphony in Dvorak’s Symphony No. 8 in G Major as well as a selection of Dvorak’s Slavonic Dances. The program also features a winner of the concerto competition, Nicole Wells, on George Hüe’s Fantasie for Flute and Orchestra and Verdi’s Overture to La forza del destino (The Force of Destiny).

“Gaudete: The It’s Not Quite Christmas Yet Concert”

  • Saturday, December 12, 2015 – 7:30 p.m.
  • Freed Center: Biggs Theatre

The ONU Wind Orchestra (Thomas A. Hunt, conductor) and Symphony Orchestra (Travis Jürgens, conductor) each take a turn on the stage and will perform works that point toward Christmas. The program features reflective and provocative literature for the wind and symphony orchestra, including some selections best described as “sacred.” Guest composer Devin Arrington will join the symphony for a premiere of his piece “David’s Harp.” Other works on the program include Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony and the Finale of Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings. For more information and tickets, visit

“Beethoven and Beyond”

  • Sunday, Feb. 21, 2016 – 5 p.m.
  • Freed Center: Biggs Theatre

The Ohio Northern Symphony, under the direction of Travis Jürgens. Featuring Beethoven's Symphony No. 1; Mendelssohn’s Hebrides Overture; Sugaria for Marimba and Orchestra, with Chang Tong, a winner of the concerto competition; and Ghosts of the Grasslands by living composer Steve Heitzeg. For more information and tickets, visit

“Secular and Sacred”

  • Saturday, April 30, 2016 – 7:30 p.m.
  • Freed Center: Biggs Theatre

Ohio Northern Symphony’s season finale! Conductors Ben Ayling and Travis Jürgens join forces to perform Bizet’s Carmen Suite No. 2, Fauré’s Requiem and more! For more information and tickets, visit

Department of Music

Patty Warner

Presser 202
525 South Main Street
Ada, Ohio 45810
Monday: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Tuesday: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Wednesday: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Thursday: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Friday: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed